The success of TikTok for some time now is undeniable, becoming one of the most popular social networks. Despite this, it is completely normal to feel saturated. Therefore, we can choose to pause or permanently delete our account if the reason is that we don’t want to use it anymore.
And although the privacy of the TikTok data is not exactly the best, they do not offer problems when it comes to deleting our data and with it the entire account. Yes indeed, there is a trick to disable it temporarily. We tell you about that whole process below.
Steps to delete or deactivate a TikTok account from mobile
As you may have already imagined, it is not enough to delete the app of the mobile. In fact, if you already did it, you will have to reinstall it and log in again, since it is the easiest way to deactivate your account (although it can also be done from the browser).
The fact is that there are two options available, so it is convenient to start by saying what are the differences between “deactivate” and “delete” the account. The first one makes your profile stay in a kind of limbo, since it will disappear for everyone and even for you, but it will keep your data so that at any time you can log in again and keep everything as it was before executing the action.
Regarding the other method, already in the options you will see that it literally appears as “delete account irreversibly“In this case it is a complete deletion in which no trace of your account will be left and not even by logging in again will you be able to recover the information, since everything is deleted and you will have to start from scratch. Of course, TikTok gives 30 days to revoke the action.
So that, the steps to follow to proceed with any of these actions are the following:
- In the Tiktok app, go to the ‘Profile’ tab.
- Open the drop-down menu at the top right (icon with three lines).
- Click on ‘Settings and privacy’.
- Now go to ‘Account’.
- Click on ‘Deactivate or delete account’.
- Choose the option ‘Deactivate the account’ or ‘Delete the account irreversibly’.
The trick for the regretful
As we previously warned, if the account is deleted, it will not be completely deleted until 30 days have passed. That is why during that month you can still ‘rescue’ the account. And yes, we may be completely sure that we want to delete it, but it is better to be cautious.
In this regard it is recommended add us a reminder a day or two before the end of those 30 days, which start counting from the moment the action is executed. And here is where everyone likes it, since you can use a reminder app, schedule the reminder on Telegram or resort to other more manual methods such as writing it down on a post-it.
It will only be a matter of entering the app within that period and logging in as usual and the account deletion will be revoked. Of course, if once you have recovered the account you want to extend the pause longeryou only have to follow the steps indicated above to, on this occasion, simply deactivate the account and thus not have to create reminders.
By the time 30 days have passed since you proceeded to delete your TikTok account, all data will be erased and unrecoverable. You can always create a new account, even with the same phone number, email or username you used before, but you’ll have to set everything up from scratch.
Cover Image | Álvaro García M. with Midjourney